Citizen of the Year

Citizen of the Year Awards

The Shire of Harvey has a strong and connected community and that is credit to those among us who dedicate themselves to bringing people together, forging social connection, respect, understanding and inclusivity.

Each year on Australia Day, events across the Shire give the opportunity to acknowledge the contribution and celebrate community engagement of people within the community. 

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

Do you know someone who makes your community a better place?

Nominations are now closed for the 2023 awards in each of the below categories:

  • Youth Citizen of the Year (under 25 years old)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year (over 65 years old)
  • Active Citizenship (Group or Event)
  • Community Citizen of the Year


Nominations for the 2024 awards have opened. 

To nominate someone, complete the form via the Auspire website. 

More information is available by contacting the Shire's Community Development team on 9729 0300 or email.

2023 Community Citizen of the Year Awards winners

Senior Citizen of the Year - Gillian Dober (Australind), Colin Beauchamp (Cookernup)

Active Citizenship of the Year (Group or Event) - Brunswick Junction Men’s Shed (Brunswick)

Community Citizen of the Year -  Greg Campbell (Australind), William Russell (Harvey), Karen McCarthy (Leschenault), Lyndon Edwards (Brunswick)