Fire Control Contacts

Fire Control Officer and Volunteer Fire Brigades

The Shire of Harvey, in accordance with the Bush Fires Act 1954, S.38 2A has declared the following persons to be authorised Bush Fire Control officers for the period of 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2022:

  • Chief Bush Fire Control Officer: Michael Papalia – 0439 922 606
  • Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (South): Wayne Jackson – 0418 940 929
  • Deputy Chief Bush Fire Control Officer (North): Vaughn Byrd – 0404 800 302

Area Fire Control Officers

Contact a Fire Control Officer for a burning permit between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday. Only and 48 hours’ notice is required prior to burning. Find out more about permits to burn.

AreaArea Fire Control OfficerContact details
Australind, Leschenault, Parkfield and WellesleyPeter Simpson0419 989 660
Binningup, Parkfield and WellesleyPeter Simpson0419 989 660
MyalupWayne Jackson0418 940 929
Hoffman and YarloopDarryl Wilson0499 406 393
UducKevin Prowse0418 921 811
Brunswick TownRobert George(08) 9726 1132
Olive Hill, Brunswick and RoelandsRobert George0417 173 553
Harvey Hills/BengerVaughn Byrd0404 800 302
Cookernup and HoffmanDerek Everington0448 197 723

Shire Officers
  •  Nicole Beauclarke, Waste and Community Safety Support Officer 08 9729 0344
  • Andrew Church, Coordinator Ranger Services 08 9729 0350

Harvey and Australind Rangers

  • Scott Frater 0419 047 528
  • John Scotland 0447 289 542

Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades

There are eight Volunteer Bush Fire Brigades (VBFB), two State Emergency Services (SES) and three Fire and Rescue Services (FRS) operating within the Shire.

If you require assistance with the burning/hazard reduction of your property, contact the following:

Brigade/ServiceNameContact details
Binningup Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeDario Nandapi0429 201 354
Brunswick Fire and Rescue ServiceColin Keys0456 111 175
Cookernup Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeDerek Everington0448 197 723
Eaton/Australind Fire and Rescue ServiceMatthew Stoltenbarg0456 957 281
Harvey Fire and Rescue ServiceScott Britza0409 015 047
Harvey Hills Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeDoug Buist0450 302 511
Leschenault Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeMichael Papalia0439 922 606
Myalup Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeBrett Parkinson0400 932 219
Olive Hills/Roelands Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeWayne Fenn0448 767 681
Uduc Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeKevin Prowse0418 921 811
Yarloop Volunteer Bush Fire BrigadeMatthew Anzellino0437 411 614

Emergency Services Volunteering

Volunteers are an imperative part of protecting our communities within our Shire.

If volunteering is of interest to you please contact your local brigade or unit. 

Many of the volunteers mention how it has been a great way to meet other community members and assist in building resilience within the community. 

More Information and Contacts

Related law and legislation

Related pages