Restricted Burning Period from 2 November to 14 December 2022

The restricted burning period dates are subject to change due to variable weather conditions. Permits to burn are required for the restricted burning period and must be obtained from the Bush Fire Control Officer.

For up to date information regarding Total Fire Bans and community warnings about emergencies visit Emergency WA

Close alert

Community Awards

Community Awards

The Shire of Harvey holds an annual event in June to celebrate the achievements of individuals and groups that make a valuable contribution to our community.

During this event, awards are presented to Shire residents who have made an exceptional contribution to their community. 

The awards presented at this event include the:

Meritorious Service Award

This award is presented to a Shire of Harvey resident who has shown exemplary conduct, and made an exceptional contribution to community. As a guide, Meritorious Service Awards may be considered for persons who have made an outstanding contribution to one or more community organisations for a minimum period of 10 years.

Appreciation Award

Appreciation awards may be awarded to Shire of Harvey residents who have made a significant contribution to their local community for a minimum period of three years. 

Youth Award

The Youth award is for young people between 12 and 25 years of age who live in the Shire and have provided outstanding service to their local community over a number of years. 

Community Group Award

The Community Group award may be awarded to a community group or organisation that is based in the Shire of Harvey and has provided a significant contribution to the local community for a minimum of five years. 

Selection Criteria

Please note the following selection criteria for each award.


Must be a current resident of the Shire of Harvey.

Community Service

Include the following information:

  • Name of organisation(s) served.
  • Years of service.
  • Positions held.
  • Initiatives or projects instigated.


Briefly describe any important achievements that the nominee has been responsible for or made a significant contribution to whilst serving the community. Please note, these achievements cannot but due to paid employment.

Contributions and benefits to the community

Describe how the nominee’s contribution has benefitted the local and /or wider community.

Previous honours / awards

Include samples of press articles, awards, certificates etc.

For the Youth Award only: Leadership

  • Leadership / mentoring roles.
  • Role model for peers.
  • Encourages participation of peers.


The Shire’s Community Awards nominations will open in March 2023.

Nomination forms are available by contacting the Shire's Community Development team on 9729 0300 or email.

Citizen of the Year Awards

The Shire of Harvey has a strong and connected community and that is credit to those among us who dedicate themselves to bringing people together, forging social connection, respect, understanding and inclusivity.

Each year on Australia Day, events across the Shire give the opportunity to acknowledge the contribution and celebrate community engagement of people within the community. 

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fund-raising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, social inclusion or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

Do you know someone who makes your community a better place?

Nominations are now closed for the 2023 awards in each of the below categories:

  • Youth Citizen of the Year (under 25 years old)
  • Senior Citizen of the Year (over 65 years old)
  • Active Citizenship (Group or Event)
  • Community Citizen of the Year


To nominate someone, complete the form via the Auspire website. 

Nominations are closed for 2022.

More information is available by contacting the Shire's Community Development team on 9729 0300 or email.

2022 Community Citizen of the Year Awards winners

Youth Citizen of the Year - Thomas Cross (Brunswick).

Senior Citizen of the Year - Trish RumbaII (Harvey) and Kaye Ayre (Australind).

Active Citizenship of the Year (Group or Event) - Brunswick Agricultural Society.

Community Citizen of the Year - Emma Jamieson (Australind), Julianne Hill (Brunswick) and Sue Della (Binningup).